I am a big fan of Seth Godin.  I don’t own any of his books, but I regularly check out his blog.  Even though I do not work in marketing, nor do I own or run a business, I find his ideas, usually distilled into a few short paragraphs, pretty thought-provoking. Usually they give me a different way of looking at things or of doing things.  I find that the point of what he says can often be boiled down to treating those around us better.

Seth’s post “The False Solace of Vilification”  really struck a chord with me. Perhaps because I see and hear people all the time (myself included) who immediately feel the need to lay blame when something goes wrong and throw out criticism and hate.  It is difficult to step out of the immediate feelings of anger, especially when everything has fallen out from under us, and see the bigger picture of being constructive, rather than bringing everyone else down along with us. And he’s right, emotional maturity is grossly underrated.

Not striking out in rage when something happens, and in turn not spewing back rage when someone treats us unfairly, is I think one of the most difficult things to master. I envy the patience and understanding of those who have suffered more than I probably ever will (for which I am grateful) and yet are not filled with rage or hate or thoughts of revenge (see: Emmanuel Jal, Chris Abani, Buddhist monks who have been tortured at the hands of the Chinese government).

It’s time to try and be a better human.

