I’ve been looking at some discussions and blogs by twenty-somethings and so many are about dealing with the quarter life crisis. And holy shit, is it depressing. By no means do I have it all figured out, and I think it’s great that so many people put their fears and thoughts out there and connect with each other.

There are people blogging about how they called off an engagement, moved, used the wedding money to go traveling and changed their whole focus in life.  There are others who are super concerned with the economic crisis and are at a loss at what to do when they need to pay back huge student loans, yet are having major trouble finding jobs. Money is a huge thing, as is expectations of what life would be like after graduation. Man, can I relate.

Money is pretty important, and having a huge debt is obviously a big burden. However, I believe that education is an investment, even if your degree doesn’t lead you to a specific career path.  Developing a plan to tackle student debt is crucial and there are tons of resources to do just that.  Suze Orman’s book “The Money Book for the Young, Broke and Fabulous” is a fantastic guide that makes tackling debt and building some savings not so scary.

Of course, there are so many amazing personal finance blogs with varying amounts of focus on savings, frugality, investing and paying down debt.

An amazing source of info on building a career for Gen Y is Penelope Trunk’s blog. It has great networking advice, resume tips and of course there’s Brazen Careerist, a social networking and career management tool for Gen Y. I’m not signed up with Brazen Careerist, but the idea is definitely interesting.

Right after I graduated last May, I did have a huge freak out.  All that came out of my mouth was ramblings about travel, and building a career, and what my life plan should be and how in the world I would ever accomplish anything that I wanted when I’m not making that much money and I don’t have the experience and blah blah blah.  Now that I’ve chilled the eff out (and sufficiently annoyed all those around me), I’ve come to a place where I’m excited about not knowing, and have formulated a million variations of my “5-year plan.” I feel really blessed that I have so many options and opportunities in front of me, even when the choices get really overwhelming. There are so many ways I could contribute to the world, and no one is saying that I need to choose ONE path and stick to it for the rest of my life.

I am continually inspired by reading blogs written by people who choose to do it their way, not according to some master plan or the expectations of those around them.  Who says you must do your traveling in your early twenties and before you start your career? Why not do it the other way around – build your career, then take some time off and travel around the world? Maybe use working abroad opportunities to build your resume and skill set?  It’s all very scary, but I think that too many of us compare ourselves to others while trying to hold true to our own goals and interests.  We get all jumbled up and start to lose touch with what we actually want to do.  I hope to actually get in touch with what I want to do.

