I have issues. Money issues.

I tend to make impulse purchases, particularly when I’m at the grocery store. I like to try new foods, don’t really pay too much attention to price, and my eyes are generally bigger than my stomach. Meaning, I spend way more money on groceries than I should, and that some of it goes to waste.  I’ve tried the whole not going to the store when you’re hungry and making a list, but I still buy loads of extra items that look yummy, or are on “sale.”

That’s not my only issue.  The other one is clothes/shoe shopping. I can generally justify a clothing purchase to myself, even when I know I shouldn’t.  It’s not that I shop a lot.  I can go months without shopping, and then BANG! I drop $500. Yuck. 

Wait, there’s also books. I really like to buy books. That’s another issue. OK, time to put these bad habits away and take out some new good habits so I can save money and go traveling!

Here’s the plan:

1) Tell everyone I know about my travel and savings plan.  I’ll get some support from those around me to help me with my goal when I’m feeling tempted.

2) Budget. I have a really awesome spending plan, but some months I don’t pay as much attention to it as I should. Time to jump back on that wagon.

3)Put savings in a separate account. I’ve opened up a new account specifically meant to be a travel fund. I’m going to make a regular monthly deposit, and any extra cash will also go in there.

4) Work. You can’t spend money if you’re busy making it.  Right now I’m in the middle of 13 days straight (possibly more).

5) Write down the goal. Not only have I written down my savings goal, I have it on a big pink note on my closet door. It’s one of the first things I see in the morning, and one of the last before I go to sleep.  I need to keep it at the front of my mind, or else the bad thoughts of “needing” things starts to creep in.

This is what I have so far, and I think it’s good. Need to come up with some more tricks to keep the spending away…

